Track List

1. 5.15 a.m. - 5:54

2. boom, like that - 5:47

3. sucker row - 4:55

4. the trawlerman's song - 5:00

5. back to tupelo - 4:29

6. our shangri-la - 5:41

7. everybody pays - 5:23

8. song for sonny liston - 5:07

9. whoop de doo - 3:49

10. postcards from paraguay - 4:05

11. all that matters - 3:09

12. stand up guy - 4:33

13. donegan's gone - 3:00

14. don't crash the ambulance - 5:06

vocals: mark knopfler
guitars: mark knopfler and richard bennett
pianos and organ: jim cox and guy fletcher
bass: glenn worf
drums: chad cromwell

paul franklin: pedal steel on ‘our shangri-la’ and ‘whoop de doo’

recorded at shangri-la studios, malibu
engineered by chuck ainlay
additional engineering: guy fletcher
mixed at british grove studios, chiswick, london
assistant engineer: rupert coulson
mastered by bob ludwig at gateway mastering and dvd, maine
all songs written by mark knopfler
produced by chuck ainlay and mark knopfler


Guitars used in the Shangri-La recording sessions

Shangri-La - Official Lyrics

Shangri-La Tour Dates, Feb - July, 2005




During the recording of the Shangri-La album Guy did another of his
fascinating studio diaries. Do take a look Guy's studio diary


The album was released worldwide on September 27th (September 28th in the USA) and is available in 4 formats
(although not all 4 formats will be available in all territories):
1) CD + free DVD containing rehearsal interviews
and studio performance footage
2) Double vinyl version
3) SACD 5.1 version (SACD will be a hybrid release,
with a 5.1 mix and SACD Stereo
4) Cassette version (limited territories only)
All four formats for the album have been made available to all territories. However, there’s no guarantee that the individual territories will make all of them available commercially.
CHART POSITIONS: We will try to keep you posted of the highest chart positions for the Shangri-La album. So far, we have the following official information:

Norway 1 Austria 14
Italy 4 Germany 3
Holland 4 Spain 6
Finland 18 Switzerland 7
Denmark 4 US Billboard Top 100 66
UK 11 France 4
Belgium 9 Sweden 3





The single Boom, Like That was released on September 20th

It is available in 2 formats:

1. The CD single will be manufactured to look like a 7” vinyl release, complete with “grooves”, and will contain 2 tracks, Boom, Like That and a song called Summer of Love which was recorded in the Shangri-La session in Malibu but did not make it onto the album track list.

2. There will also be a 7” vinyl single release, containing 2 tracks: a-side, Boom, Like That and Who’s Your Baby Now recorded live at Massey Hall, Toronto, Canada in 2001.


The CD single and the vinyl are available from HMV stores at £1.99. Both the CD and vinyl version of the single are numbered but were deleted after the first week, thereafter they are only be available to purchase as long as stocks remain in store.


CD single cover - Europe only (excluding UK)

Internationally (excluding North America) we have released a 2 track CD containing Boom, Like That and Summer Of Love. There is also a CD Maxi with 3 tracks, Boom, Like That, Summer Of Love and Who’s Your Baby Now, live from Massey Hall. These will not be deleted, and will be in store for as long as stocks last. We do not have confirmation on which date these will be released or in which territories. There will be no vinyl single release outside the UK..


Europe Only
UK release date: 22nd May, 2005
Rest of Europe April/May


1) The Trawlerman’s Song
2) Back To Tupelo *
3) Song For Sonny Liston *
4) Boom, Like That *
5) Donegan's Gone *
6) Stand Up Guy *

* Live from Shangri-La Studios

Vocals: Mark Knopfler
Guitars: Mark Knopfler and Richard Bennett
Keys: Jim Cox and Matt Rollings
Bass: Glenn Worf
Drums: Chad Cromwell

Doug Pettibone: Electric guitar on ‘Back to Tupelo’ and ‘Boom,
Like That’, and mandolin on ‘Stand up Guy’

Recorded at Shangri-La Studios, Malibu, California. Protools
operated by Rodney Pearson Neve modules loaned
and delivered by Steffan and Mark Fantini Mixed
at BackStage at Soundstage Studios, Nashville

Engineered & mixed by Chuck Ainlay

Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering & DVD, Maine

All songs written by Mark Knopfler
Produced by Chuck Ainlay and Mark Knopfler



Kill To Get Crimson

All The Roadrunning

The Very Best of Dire Straits/
Mark Knopfler

The Ragpicker's Dream

Sailing To Philadelphia

Golden Heart